Personal Project

Street Culture. A primary issue for urban sociologists is the disproportionate poverty in ghettoes, defined as parts of American cities that are composed of mostly poor African Americans.

 

Popular culture or pop culture is the entirety of attitudes, ideas, images, perspectives, and other phenomena within the mainstream of a given culture, especially Western culture of the early to mid-20th century and the emerging global mainstream of the late 20th and early 21st century. Heavily influenced by mass media, this collection of ideas permeates the everyday lives of the society. The most common pop culture categories are: entertainment (movies, music, television, games, memes), sports, news (as in people/places in news), politics, fashion/clothes, technology, and slang.[1] Popular culture has a way of influencing an individual’s attitudes towards certain topics.[2]

 

 

Artists – 

Instagram –

Mattisse 

Dick Bruna –

 

Shepard – fairy – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJfeAvP8xTo ( wheat paste technique)

http://thesecretyumiverse.wonderhowto.com/how-to/street-art-101-make-wheatpaste-poster-0137642/ –   

( exploring the technique of what pasting I would like to experiment with in the future I shall have to discuss this idea with a tutor to see If i can get further advice but I would be focusing on refine my imagery before this point)

i, he was the first to turn it into a 24 hour a day job; he was rewarded with media coverage – the ultimate “fame.”

 

Jacek Tylicki

  • “An artist soured by his surroundings”
  • make war in art not in reality”

 

 

Observational Drawing

“Drawing” this brief drawing would be a key aspect , further developing and refining our observational drawing skills , undertaking visits to museums and various parts around London , to even sitting on you’re couach and having a sketch , Experimenting with materials and scene to draw. Also using a view finder to look further when creating observational drawings , zooming and cropping to add an interesting angle.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Zine / Observational Drawing

The task set to visit a set location take a ton of drawings and create a zine In the next session , cutting and sticking to create a small booklet containing you’re drawings a very quick effective outcome to help present you’re experience , I was blessed with a visit to the Natural Science museum with tons of things to draw , we were given a list of topics and we would have to pick one we would focus on and continue to draw this throughout the museum , I decided on birds , I’m not to sure why but they called to me , So after collecting of a collection of imagery , I then went on to blow up and invert the drawings , cutting and sticking them together to create a zine , here below you can see the pages from the “Eat Food Not Birds” zine.

 

 

 

For my personal project I would look to really push my work load and try to create a dynamic collection of work exploring different medium’s and styles , exploring the inside and outside of art , taking inspiration from artists around us and most of all our every day surrounding I would like to focus on culture and life in general the big and subtle aspects , also having a keen motif on creating vibrant pieces to take to a bigger scale out doors , Through out this project I have been practicing different styles and techniques taking influence from my everyday life observing listening and researching in to things life throws at us through plain sight or pop up.

Starting to develop some early sketches exploring the styles and techniques I had research , further developing my style , pushing for a more loose authentic line and expressing myself and emotions through the art work , here some initial designs and drawings looking at illustrating aspects of shape , line and layout  influenced by matisse , dick burna , harring ,basquaite , also political and important issues issues slip forward through imagery.

Development

 

Further images start to add , more colours and abstract shapes forming into character , I would be focusing on just creating image for this project not to research or brief driven this is how I prefer to work , Experimenting and really enjoying creating pieces that have a sense of life that , I would like to paint at large scale in the future possibly but still just experimenting with expressive illustration , post modern illustration haha.

 

 

Print Prints Prints 

I started my print pilgrimage this project also which I highly enjoyed and would like to continue to explore further , cutting out shapes has become a usual practice of mine so I started to experiment with block shape creating 2 colour prints , looking at ” vote /bourbon” linking to the current UK election , trying to have fun and create work that was almost live. Considering shape and layers of print.

 

PSD TOONS

Along side this project I have also been working on My resubmission for exploration to , merging techniques from both brief’s started to open up my creative idea’s for that brief we were selected to make a 3 colour book , I thought I could definitely improve and add on that work by turning some of images into colourful vibrant versions here our a selection of my favourite from this process , using a variety of colour and grain , I feel creating a real 200’s Cartoon network style of art work.I feel In these pieces you can clearly see the influence and style my work is starting to take forward so as far as personal practice I thought this was key.

 

 

VANDALISM

As my research states I am highly attracted to various collection of street art , The fact something can be outside and breath among us to me is really cool , also just an image that can brighten up someones day or make them feel something just by glancing is also a concept I am fond of , I find the history of the art very relatable as these are not rich artist these tend to be real people leaving there mark , tribal natural and human , I have been working on creating pieces that would one day possibly be presented in this way , here are a few images form some experiments I have been undertaking , 2 posts I found online with no recognition of the two people posting Found this interesting also as In london social media can be a real way to get a message out there.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  • euro , Vote Courbin , – print experiments

Yachty – Samuel Jackson. – réponse to statement sernario ,

Sketches ,development ,

paintings ,- modern day interpretacitan’s , money , mental health , stress

expression , free wild of screen

finding my strengths weaknesses.

experimenting with printing outcomes

hoodie

SkSk

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bibliography 

http://uk.complex.com/style/2013/02/the-50-greatest-nyc-graffiti-artists/blade

https://www.instagram.com/malarko/

http://avant-streetart.com/avant_street_art_1980s_New_York.htm

 

Leave a comment